Dear all ,

It is with great excitement and our pleasure to inform you that SAHARA PARK WILLOWMOORE was today announced as one of the 8 host venues ( city ) for the upcoming CSA GLOBAL T20 competition in November 2017. The announcement was made in London this afternoon . the competition which is similar to that of the INDIAN IPL will see us host some of the best cricketers in the world.

It is great news for Eastern Cricket and Ekurhuleni and will promise some exciting times ahead. May we take this opportunity to congratulate EASTERN CRICKET on this wonderful achievement. We will keep you updated as to developments.


Easterns Cricket

Monday, 19 June 2017

LONDON - Cricket South Africa (CSA) today officially announced the successful eight Team Owners who, in a clear vote of confidence in South Africa’s new T20 Global League, have earned the right to be part of cricketing history. 

After much anticipation and with excitement at an all-time high, the reveal took place at a well-attended industry launch event at London’s most prestigious hotel, The Bvlgari, London. The event set the tone for a new standard in T20 cricket.

EY (previously known as Ernst & Young) ran the team owner selection process to ensure integrity, compliance and due diligence was followed throughout the process by both CSA and potential owners.

“Competition was stiff, with more than 150 Expressions of Interest (EOI) received from around the world and a shortlist of heavy hitters to consider, but after rigorous discussions and engagement with each of the potential owners, we are certain that our final eight owners have the perfect combination of strategic insight and passion needed to make the first T20 Global League a complete success,” said CSA President, Chris Nenzani.  

The official eight team owners, host cities and marquee players are:

1.  Shah Rukh Khan KKR Cape Town JP Duminy
2.  Mr Fawad Rana Lahore Qalandars Durban Hashim Amla
3.  GMR Group Delhi Daredevils Johannesburg Kagiso Rabada
4.  Mr Javed Afridi My Sports World / Peshawar Zalmi Benoni Quinton de Kock
5.  Mr Osman Osman SA Consortium Pretoria AB de Villiers
6.  Mr Ajay Sethi Channel 2 Port Elizabeth Imran Tahir
7.  Mr Mustaq Brey Brimstone Investment Corporation Stellenbosch Faf du Plessis
8.  Mr Sushil Kumar City Sports Bloemfontein David Miller

Joining the owners will be the eight Protea Marquee Players who have now been assigned to a team on the basis of the city they have historically been associated with or a city they will be able to build a strong association with. Alongside the Protea marquee players, the eight International marquee players that were previously announced will help drive the global spirit of competition as the franchises battle for top spot.

“The announcement of the team owners is a key milestone to successfully launch our T20 Global League,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat. “We are thrilled by the international mix of owners and the passion and excitement that was clearly demonstrated during the bidding process by them and the marquee players. It sets up our #T20GL as a fans favourite in the cricketing calendar.”

The player draft is scheduled for 19 August, with almost 400 players from 10 countries confirming their interest.

Join in the T20 Global League conversation by using the hashtag #T20GL. Follow all the updates via our social pages:

Pin It

Junior Prize-giving 2016-17

Senior Prize-giving 2016-17